Breakfast Cookies!

Lemon Ginger Cranberry Almond Scones May 2011

May 2016 note: I’ve recently pulled my own recipe up to make these cookies. My kids miss them.
However, when I pulled it up, I noticed that there was no fat in the recipe. I had eliminated the grapeseed oil from the original recipe because  it made the dough runny.  I was so used to them, I didn’t realize how dry they were at the time, but my husband always complained and didn’t like them.  

This time, on the fly, I cut in 4 Tablespoons of high quality butter and added 2-3T real half and half, closer to what a normal scone would have.   I’m also using cane sugar these days, so I used approx 1/2 cup+ 1-2T.  They turned out delicious and much better than the original, but until I can rework and retest the recipe again, you might need to play around with it. Almond Flour changes the rules of  baking because it doesn’t absorb anything, which is why these have been reworked several times. 

This is an older post originally posted in May 2011. However, due to changes in my own variations, I’m editing the original post to include some needed tweaks to the recipes. After two years, this is one of my very favorite breakfasts, and the combinations are simply endless. Chocolate chip is my default because my kids think I’m the best mom ever for letting them eat Chocolate Chip cookies for Breakfast! Moms need points every once in a while.

In January, 2011 Elana Amsterdam, from Elana’s Pantry and author of The Almondflour cookbook” posted scones recipes on her blog.  Her recipe is so easy, I’ve since memorized it and whip up a batch within a few minutes every few mornings.  The base ingredients are simple and it’s easy to adapt and change the recipe.

My decision to adapt an already amazing recipe came from an unsatisfied craving for almond poppyseed bread and lemon poppyseed bread.  Because Elana’s recipe is so moist, these are perfect for such flavors. I also seemed to have problems with browning and a few other things. So over the past 2 years, I’ve worked and reworked these wonderful gems. They always taste good, it’s just a matter of when they taste best.

I did end up making a few changes to the original base recipe in the end.  I added 1tsp vanilla into the wet ingredients. The vanilla brings out the richness of the almond flour.  I found adding 1/2 tsp baking powder and decreasing the soda to 1/2, yielded a bit better end product.  I also wanted stronger flavors, so any time I use Citrus, I zest an entire orange, lime or lemon. Finally, I’m experimenting with Coconut syrup due to the controversy surrounding Agave Nectar and liver issues I’ve dealt with off and on for a while. I switch back and forth. The coconut syrup is a bit thicker and sticker, so you may need to reduce your flour slightly.

One other important note is that I no longer roll them out or add sugar to the tops. Flattening this dough results in texture, flavor, and other compromises. Instead, i use a drop biscuit method and try to handle to dough as little as possible once it’s mixed up and rested. The creamer addition is recent after watching a FoodNetwork show and a lady talking about using cream in her scones. It hit me that is exactly what these needed!

Here is the original recipe from Elanas Pantry, Orange Dark Chocolate Chip scones.  Make sure to check out her site and recipes. She is fantastic with Almond Flour. In the meantime, I hope you enjoy these variations on a Yummy treat.

Base Recipe – edited Aug 16, 2012 to reflect some tweaks that improve texture, flavor, and prep time
Adapted from Elanas chocolate Orange scones

2 cups blanched Almondflour
2t. Coconut Flour
1/2 t. Baking powder
1/2 t. baking Soda
3 T. Agave Nectar or Coconut Syrup
1 T. SO DELICIOUS Coconut Milk Creamer (I use whatever flavor I have on hand.)
1 tsp Vanilla or Almond Extract (as you feel the whim)
1 egg

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Sift together almond flour, coconut flour, baking powder and baking soda (These days, I don’t bother to sift, I use a wisk once they are in the bowl.) Mix egg, Agave nectar, creamer and vanilla then add them to the flour mixture. Once mixed, incorporate your variation ingredients from below. Let sit 10 minutes to allow the coconut flour to fully absorb all liquid. (This is CRUCIAL! IF you don’t wait, the flour will not absorb the liquid properly and you end up with texture problems as well as time issues.)

Grab two large spoons and use a drop-biscuit method onto parchment lined baking sheet. (after two years of testing, I’ve found metal works better than stoneware.) If you desire, you can sprinkle some RAW sugar on the tops (as shown in the photo), but I no longer do. Bake 9-12 minutes.  These are easy to overbake. You want the top peaks to have started browning and the bottom to have just a touch of brown. These don’t brown fully.) Transfer to cooling rack and wait at least 15 min to serve.  (i think they taste better cooled off & reheated slightly or mostly cooled.)

Cranberry, lemon ginger
This is one of my favorite variations (you can sub limes or oranges for the lemon for a completely different taste. I ended up out of lemon one day and used a lime for this recipe, it was fantastic!) By all means, add more ginger, craisins etc if you want more!
Add to the dry ingredients before adding the wet:
1/2-3/4 cup dried craisins
1/4-1/3 cup diced candied ginger. (how strong do you like ginger?)
Zest of 1 lemon (lime or Orange)
Mix and bake as directed above

Lemon poppy seed
Add and mix well with the dry ingredients:
Zest of 1 lemon, 2 T poppyseeds.

Almond poppyseed
add 2T poppyseeds to dry ingredients. Mix well. Omit the vanilla (or reduce it) and replace with 2 t Almond extract, mix with eggs and Agave, before adding to mixture.
Add sliced almonds to the Raw sugar to roll dough in if desired.

Apricot white chocolate:
Dice 1/2 cup dried apricots and add 1/2 cup to 3/4 cups white chocolate chips (use REAL white chocolate, sunspire is a good brand) to dry mixture.  To wet mixture, reduce vanilla to 1/2 or omit and add 1-2 tsp Almond extract. Roll out into sugar as above.

Chinese five-spice chocolate chip:
These are my new favorite.  Add 1 tsp Chinese five-spice powder to dry mix and 3/4 cup DARK chocolate chips.

These are the variations I’ve done. Depending on a few of the recipes, sometimes I needed to add an extra teaspoon of coconut flour. Often even how freshly ground your almond flour is can result in the need for more coconut flour because the almond flour is more moist. I also love to be generous with vanilla extract, so mine might have more than that 1 tsp.

Hope you enjoy these variations of a fantastic and fun recipe!

One thought on “Breakfast Cookies!

Leave a Reply

