Recipe: Gluten Free Rustic Baked Potato Chowder

I told my husband at the beginning of the week I was making Potato Chowder this week. He was less than excited. Nevertheless, I made it and he ate two bowls and was bummed there was none for his lunch tomorrow! This isn’t a strict recipe, so modify it to your tastes. I put the option of cheese on here as a garnish, but frankly, the soup is so rich and creamy it doesn’t need it. Bacon on the other hand…..it’s a must IMHO.

The main differences in my chowder from other potato chowder is that I use already baked potatoes rather than boiling to keep the soup from being too starchy or tasting like not quite finished potatoes. I cream everything before I completely finish the soup, (I use a Magic Bullet rather than a blender and I want to get it smooth in one batch). Cream cheese replaces both milk and making a roux with flour for thickening, and I keep the skins on the potatoes so the soup ends up more rustic and with more vitamins. The cream cheese also adds a wonderful flavor.

Enjoy and thanks for trying it!

2TBLS olive Oil
2TBLS Butter
1 Carrot minced
1 Yellow Onion diced
2 cloves of garlic minced
10-12 diced baked baby Yukon or red potatoes (see below for baking method) (I leave the skins on)
1 box of Gluten Free Chicken Broth (you will actually not use the entire box, you’ll use what you want)
pinch of dried Rosemary or fresh sprigs if you wish
sprig of fresh oregano
5-6 leaves fresh basil
pinch of dried parsley
Kosher or Sea Salt to taste
4TBLS-1/2 brick of low fat cream cheese (1/3 reduced fat and aka Neufatchael)
bacon bits
shredded cheese (optional garnish)
ground pepper to taste

Mince and dice veggies keeping separate. Heat Olive Oil and Butter together in a large soup pot. (the olive oil reduces the smoke point of the butter). Once butter starts to foam, add the carrot and sauté for 2 minutes. Add onion and cook for one more minute. Then add garlic and cook everything until they start to brown and carmalize. (I use stainless steel, so I wait until I start to get brown bits). Add broth till it covers the pan. (probably about 1/2 a cup). Stir and scrape off the browned bits. let come to boil and get thick.

Remove pan from heat and place everything in a blender with 1/2 of the diced potatoes, a few pinches of salt, and a cup of chicken broth. Blend till smooth and creamy. Pour the mix back into the pan and add more chicken broth to desired consistency. I probably used about 2 1/2 -3 cups total for the soup. Add rosemary, basil, parsley, oregano, and ground pepper. Add cream cheese and if needed use masher or wisk to break up. Cook for 5 minutes or so and break it up again. (it helps to dice the cream cheese). Taste soup for flavor and consistency. If need more smooth fix it here.

Add diced potatoes and let simmer for 10-15 minutes. (Meanwhile, dice and cook bacon if you haven’t).
Serve with cheese and bacon as desired.

BAKED POTATO METHOD
This summer I figured out how to make moist delicious potatoes in the crockpot. I got tired of heating up the house or exploding potatoes in the oven. I always use Yukon gold or Red. This soup was made with a mixture. Early AM, I scrub all the potatoes and then soak them in 1 cup of kosher salt and 8 cups of hot water. You can poke holes or not poke holes, but it makes them really moist and creamy for baking and the soup. Around 1 or so, I put the potatoes (no foil) in my crockpot with a 1/2 cup or so of water. Place them on High and walk away…..after 3 hours or so, I place it on low and check the water. Around 5pm or 6, I serve them. For the soup, retain about 10-15 small potatoes for the soup and refridge until you desire to use them.

5 thoughts on “Recipe: Gluten Free Rustic Baked Potato Chowder

  1. Pingback: Recipe: Gluten Free Rustic Baked Potato Chowder (via Friendship without Bread) « grainsandgreens2's Blog

  2. Sounds delich! And I seem to remember Brian isn’t much of a soup fan. So it has to be excellent!

    I don’t have a crock pot and would need to tweak the recipe for a vegan version, but I’m sure it could be done. If I manage a good tweak I’ll let you know! Sounds yummy, glad it was a success!

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Recipe: Gluten Free Rustic Baked Potato Chowder | Friendship without Bread -- Topsy.com

  4. Hi Jennifer: I just connected with your husband, fb or George Shileikis suggested a commonality. Any way my wife has found out she has a sensitivity to gluten from a naturopath that we went to in Adrian, MI. I saw Brians post of this blog of yours and investigated. I have a question: how does gluten get into broth made by boiling chicken or beef or vegetables? I don’t see bread anywhere in the ingredients.

    • Fred, that is a very good question and something I will write about more in it’s own post. Bread isn’t the only source of gluten, that’s one of the common misconceptions. While someone who makes a broth at home by boiling a chicken would not end up with gluten in their broth, someone who buys a can of certian brands very easily could. Gluten comes from Wheat, Barley, Rye, Spelt and a few others grains. it is also often in Oats because they are often processed in the same facilities, grown in close fields to wheat, or harvested with the same equipment.

      Basically, the food industry adds a bunch of stuff that should not “normally” be in food. In fact, “tuna in water” is not in water, it is in vegatable broth and water. Things labeled, “spices,” “natural flavorings,” and “modified food (or corn) starch” just to name a few are like playing russian roulette. Often, big spices have filler in them and that sometimes could contain gluten. Modified food starch often adds wheat into the starch. Supposedly they are supposed to disclose wheat as an ingredient, but I’m finding that if my kids eat something with modified food starch and it’s NOT labled gluten free, sometime they will have a reaction. I’ve had reactions too. It’s a whole new world and basically, if there are any sort of altered ingredients in a food, it needs to say Gluten free. I’ll trust a can of tomato past that says “organic tomatoes” but I won’t trust a can of tomato sauce that says, “tomatoes, water, natural flavorings, and spices.”

      I’ll post a lot more on this and you should also have her check out some celiac foundation websites to get a good feel for what she is really dealing with. http://www.celiac.org/

      thanks for the question! Stay tuned for more info.

Leave a Reply

